Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the browsers below.

Internet Explorer 10, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

SGI Canada Newsletter, Vol.1 - May 21, 2020

May 21, 2020

SGI Canada Newsletter

Vol 1, Issue No. 1

May 21, 2020

 

Welcome to the first issue of the SGI Canada Newsletter, a summary of news, upcoming events and encouragement that will be issued regularly, starting with this first issue. The SGI Canada Newsletter replaces the previous SGI Canada Online News. All subscribers will automatically receive the SGI Canada Newsletter from now on. If you are not subscribing, you may do so by clicking on the button below. Subscriptions are free of charge and the SGI Canada Newsletter will be emailed directly to subscribers. 

SUBSCRIBE

News 

SGI News and Encouragement

News and encouragement from SGI, including SGI President Ikeda’s messages, are posted regularly on the SGI Canada website at: sgicanada.org/news .   

Online Bookstore Now Open

SGI Canada’s online bookstore is now open through the link at the SGI Canada website at: sgicanada.org or directly at: https://sgicanada.myshopify.com/. Books in English, French and other languages are available, as well as butsudans, altar accessories, gongyo books, and gift items. All items are delivered directly to your door. 

COVID-19 Update #5

SGI Canada centres will remain closed and normal activities will remain suspended, in order to protect the health of members, friends and family. SGI Canada thanks members for the new and creative ways in which they have supported and encouraged the people around them during the COVID-19 crisis. We hope that members will continue to transform the crisis into an opportunity to challenge themselves and advance kosen-rufu in Canada. SGI Canada will monitor the situation and review the suspension of activities over the coming weeks and months. 

Joining SGI Canada

Even though physical meetings are not being held right now, new practitioners can still join SGI Canada. Membership application forms are available from your district leader, and joining ceremonies can be held at any SGI Canada meeting. 

Special SGI Canada Fund

The Special SGI Canada Fund is an opportunity to contribute directly to the kosen-rufu movement in Canada. We realize that the COVID-19 crisis has created financial difficulties for many this year, and we want to reassure all members that there are other opportunities to donate, both monthly and during the Special SGI Canada Fund in October. Those members who would like to contribute can do so by either:

  1. mailing a cheque payable to SGI Canada to SGI Canada, 2050 Dufferin Street, Toronto, Ont. M6E 3R6; or
  2. making an online donation through CanadaHelps at: www.canadahelps.org and searching for Soka Gakkai International Association of Canada

Donations can be received at any time. For more information, you can also contact your local SGI Canada leaders. 

Publications

Members and guests can subscribe to our publications (New Century, From Today Onward, Chinese New Century and Ère nouvelle) either through monthly Pre-Authorized Payments (PAP) or one-time Annual subscriptions. Please contact your district collector or district leader for more information, or download the subscription forms from the SGI Canada website at: sgicanada.org/publications and send your subscription directly to: SGI Canada, 2050 Dufferin Street, Toronto, ON M6E 3R6.  

Upcoming Events – June, Month of Future Division 

Young Lions Family General Meetings on June 28

Young Lions (5-12 years old) will be having very special Family General Meetings on June 28—in their own homes! Children will be chanting with their parents, studying, and doing fun activities all over Canada. Watch out for details coming soon! 

Young Phoenix Group Launched
The first Nationwide Young Phoenix Group Meeting (13-17 years old) was held on Sunday, April 19 to great success, and the second meeting was held on Sunday, May 17. The next meeting will be Sunday, June 21 at 4:00pm ET (1:00pm PT, 2:00pm MT, 3:00pm CT, 5:00pm AT, 5:30pm NT). See you then!

Focus on October

Youth Festivals in October

Youth members across Canada will be holding online Youth Festivals in October to commemorate the 60th anniversary of President Ikeda’s first visit to Canada, October 11-13, 1960. Planning is underway, and more details will be coming soon. 

 

We hope you found this newsletter useful. Please email your questions or comments to postmaster@sgicanada.org .