Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the browsers below.

Internet Explorer 10, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

Josei Toda

Josei Toda (1900-1958), éducateur, éditeur et entrepreneur, redonna vie, en tant que deuxième président de la Soka Gakkai, à l’organisation bouddhiste laïque après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale et en fit un mouvement populaire dynamique.

Rencontre avec son mentor

Makiguchi (right) and Toda (left), 1930

Arrivé à Tokyo de l’île septentrionale de Hokkaïdo dans la jeune vingtaine, Josei Toda trouve un poste d’enseignant dans l’école dont Tsunesaburo Makiguchi est le directeur. Impressionné par ses idéaux en matière d’éducation, il ne tarde pas à en devenir le protégé. En 1928, il le suit dans sa décision de pratiquer le bouddhisme de Nichiren. Par la suite, tous deux fondent la Soka Kyoiku Gakkai, précurseur de la Soka Gakkai.

Emprisonnement


Prayer beads Toda made from milk-bottle tops while in prison,  and a slate on which he kept a record of  the daimoku he chanted in prisonLes autorités militaristes japonaises renforçant leur contrôle de la société et réprimant la dissidence, Josei Toda et Tsunesaburo Makiguchi sont arrêtés et emprisonnés en 1943 pour s’être opposés aux politiques du gouvernement. En prison, Josei Toda se consacre à la pratique et à l’étude du bouddhisme de Nichiren, et approfondit sa connaissance de ses principes. Ses efforts luifont clairement comprendre que la bouddhéité est un potentiel inhérent à toute vie et renforce sa conviction que tous les êtres humains peuvent manifester cet état de vie illuminé en pratiquant les enseignements de Nichiren.

Construction de la Soka Gakkai

Lecturing on the writings of Nichiren, 1954

À sa libération de prison à la fin de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, Josei Toda commence à reconstruire la Soka Kyoiku Gakkai, quasi réduite à néant, et lui donne un nouveau nom : la Soka Gakkai (Société pour la création de valeurs). Il enseigne que par la pratique bouddhique et la transformation intérieure, ou « révolution humaine », tout être humain peut changer sa destinée en mieux. Ce message touche profondément beaucoup de gens aux prises avec la pauvreté, la maladie et d’autres difficultés dans le chaos du Japon d’après-guerre. De plus, la confiance inébranlable de Josei Toda dans le pouvoir de la philosophie de Nichiren et sa capacité de traduire les concepts profonds du bouddhisme en directives concrètes pour la vie quotidienne redonnent aux pratiquants confiance et courage. À sa mort en 1958, Josei Toda avait bâti une organisation comptant près d’un million de membres et jeté les bases de la propagation spectaculaire du bouddhisme de Nichiren au Japon et dans d’autres pays.

Héritage pacifique

Toda & Daisaku Ikeda (1958)

On se souvient aussi de Josei Toda pour son opposition catégorique aux armes nucléaires, qu’il qualifiait de mal absolu menaçant le droit inaliénable des êtres humains à la vie. Il demanda instamment aux jeunes membres de la Soka Gakkai d’œuvrer à l’abolition de telles armes. On considère que c’est cette position, qu’il annonça en 1957, qui inspire les activités pour la paix de la SGI. En l’honneur des idéaux de Josei Toda, son successeur, le président de la SGI Daisaku Ikeda, a fondé l’Institut Toda pour la paix et une politique prospective qui réunit des chercheurs, des décideurs et des militants associatifs autour de projets relatifs à la consolidation de la paix et au dialogue entre les civilisations.

 

   

 

Pour en savoir plus

Site Web officiel sur Josei Toda

Avec l’autorisation de www.sgi.org

Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the browsers below.

Internet Explorer 10, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

Josei Toda

Josei Toda (1900-58) was an educator, publisher and entrepreneur who, as second president of the Soka Gakkai, revived the lay Buddhist organization after the Second World War, building it into a dynamic, popular movement.

Encountering his Mentor

Makiguchi (right) and Toda (left), 1930Arriving in Tokyo from the northern island of Hokkaido in his early 20s, Toda found a teaching post at the school where Tsunesaburo Makiguchi was principal. Impressed by Makiguchi's educational ideals, he soon became his protégé. In 1928 he followed Makiguchi in his decision to practice Nichiren Buddhism. The two later cofounded the Soka Kyoiku Gakkai, forerunner of the Soka Gakkai.

Imprisonment

As Japan's militarist authorities tightened control over society and suppressed dissent, Toda and Makiguchi were arrested and imprisoned in 1943 for opposing the government's policies. In prison, Toda devoted himself to the practice and study of Nichiren Buddhism, gaining a profound grasp of its Prayer beads Toda made from milk-bottle tops while in prison,  and a slate on which he kept a record of  the daimoku he chanted in prisonprinciples. His efforts brought him to a clear realization that Buddhahood is a potential inherent in all life, and deepened his confidence that all people could manifest this enlightened life condition through practicing Nichiren's teachings.

 

Building the Soka Gakkai

Lecturing on the writings of Nichiren, 1954On his release from prison at the end of the Second World War, Toda began to reconstruct the collapsed Soka Kyoiku Gakkai, renaming it the Soka Gakkai (Society for the Creation of Value). Toda taught that through Buddhist practice and inner-motivated change, or "human revolution," all people can change their destiny for the better. This message resonated powerfully among the many people suffering from poverty, illness and other challenges in the chaos of postwar Japan. Moreover, Toda's unshakable confidence in the power of Nichiren's philosophy and his ability to translate the profound concepts of Buddhism into practical guidance for daily life re-ignited people's hope and courage. By the time of his death in 1958 Toda had built an organization of nearly one million members and laid the foundation for the dramatic spread of Nichiren Buddhism in Japan and abroad.

Peace Legacy

Toda & Daisaku Ikeda (1958)Toda is also remembered for his uncompromising stance against nuclear weapons, which he termed an absolute evil that threatens people's inalienable right to life. He urged the youth members of the Soka Gakkai to work for the abolition of nuclear weapons. This stance, which he declared in 1957, is considered the inspiration for the SGI's peace activities. In honour of Toda's ideals, his successor, SGI President Ikeda, founded the Toda Institute for Global Peace and Policy Research. The institute brings peace researchers, policy-makers and community activists together on projects related to peace-building and dialogue among civilizations.

More Information

Josei Toda Official Website

Courtesy of www.sgi.org