Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the browsers below.

Internet Explorer 10, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

SGI Canada Newsletter, No.8 - August 28, 2020

August 28, 2020

SGI Canada Newsletter

Issue no. 8

August 28, 2020

 

Welcome to the eighth issue of the SGI Canada Newsletter, a bi-weekly summary of news, upcoming events and encouragement. The SGI Canada Newsletter replaces the previous SGI Canada Online News. All subscribers will automatically receive the SGI Canada Newsletter from now on. If you are not subscribing, you may do so by clicking on the button below. Subscriptions are free of charge and the SGI Canada Newsletter will be emailed directly to subscribers.

 

SUBSCRIBE

 

News

World Youth General Meeting and SGI Canada Youth Festivals commemorate 60th Anniversary of Worldwide Kosen-rufu

This October marks the 60th anniversary of SGI President Ikeda’s first overseas trip, which began on October 2, 1960, when he initiated the movement for worldwide kosen-rufu.

To commemorate this immensely important milestone and to express our resolve to advance worldwide kosen-rufu, SGI has announced that there will be a World Youth General Meeting, with participation from all around the world. This will be unprecedented. The meeting will be streamed live online on Sunday, September 27 (Japan Time) and with subsequent recorded streamed showings (see schedule below).

We hope everyone will participate in this historic event through the streamed video, and that everyone will encourage fellow members, families and friends to see it too. Let’s create a powerful momentum across Canada, with all divisions encouraging as many Youth and Future Division members as possible to engage in the World Youth General Meeting. Being a part of this unique event will enable SGI Canada’s youth to manifest an even greater determination toward our own SGI Canada Youth Festivals the following weekend on October 3 and 4 (see schedule below), celebrating the 60th anniversary of President Ikeda’s first visit to Canada during his first historic overseas journey for peace in October 1960.

Our goals are to enable 10,000 SGI Canada members and friends to participate in World Youth General Meeting, and for 2,000 Future Division Young Phoenix Group and Youth Division members and friends to participate in the Youth Festivals.

These two events together—the World Youth General Meeting and the SGI Canada Youth Festivals—will create tremendous momentum toward November 18, the 90th anniversary of the founding of the Soka Gakkai.

 

World Youth General Meeting

Sunday, September 27 at 12:50pm (Japan Time)

See promotional video at:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EZ2uwibot98

This online meeting will be open to all SGI Canada members of all divisions as well as guests. At designated times in the hours following the live stream, additional opportunities will allow participants in countries around the world to see it in their respective time zones. Multiple languages will be available. A new international song will be introduced, also in multiple languages. Further information and the online links will be announced when they become available.

 

Participation by SGI Canada Youth and Future Division Representatives

SGI Canada representatives have been invited to participate in the following ways:

The World Youth General Meeting will be of great historical significance. We therefore want to ensure that as many Youth and Future Division members as possible are able to participate by viewing the online streaming of the meeting and performances.

 

How to see the World Youth General Meeting through Online Streaming

Canadian participants can watch the meeting either live or in a recorded version later on.

Live Stream

The World Youth General Meeting will be live streamed on a special YouTube link (to be announced) on Sunday, September 27 at 12:50pm (Japan Time), which will be at the following times in Canada:

 

Pacific Time

8:50pm, Saturday, September 26

Mountain Time

9:50pm, Saturday, September 26

Central Time

10:50pm, Saturday, September 26

Eastern Time

11:50pm, Saturday, September 26

Atlantic Time

12:50am, Sunday, September 27

Newfoundland Time

1:20am, Sunday, September 27


 

Recorded stream - participating together

We would like to encourage as many people as possible across Canada to view the recorded stream of the general meeting on a special YouTube link at the same time on Sunday, September 27:

 

Pacific Time

1:00pm, Sunday, September 27

Mountain Time

2:00pm, Sunday, September 27

Central Time

3:00pm, Sunday, September 27

Eastern Time

4:00pm, Sunday, September 27

Atlantic Time

5:00pm, Sunday, September 27

Newfoundland Time

5:30pm, Sunday, September 27

 

Recorded stream – additional times

If the above time is not possible, the World Youth General Meeting will be available on a special YouTube link for 24 hours, during the following times in Canada:

 

Pacific Time

From 4:00am, Sunday, September 27

To 4:00am, Monday, September 28

Mountain Time

From 5:00am, Sunday, September 27

To 5:00am, Monday, September 28

Central Time

From 6:00am, Sunday, September 27

To 6:00am, Monday, September 28

Eastern Time

From 7:00am, Sunday, September 27

To 7:00am, Monday, September 28

Atlantic Time

From 8:00am, Sunday, September 27

To 8:00am, Monday, September 28

Newfoundland Time

From 8:30am, Sunday, September 27

To 8:30am, Monday, September 28

          

Please note that the meeting will be nearly two hours in length, so if you wish to see the final showing in its entirety, please tune in two hours before the end of the streaming period.

Everyone is able to see the live stream of the World Youth General Meeting at the times indicated above, as well as the recorded stream during the 24-hour period when it will be available. Let’s reach out to all the members in our districts, to our families and to our friends, enabling 10,000 Canadians to participate in this historic event!

 

SGI Canada Youth Festivals

“Shine as the Rainbow of Hope”

 

See National Youth Leaders’ message in the September issue of NEW CENTURY.

ENGLISH 

FRENCH

Youth Festival Website

https://www.youthfest.ca/ (English)

https://www.youthfest.ca/home-fr (français)

 

SGI Canada Youth Festival Dates and Times

Vancouver (Western Region) – Saturday, October 3 at 1:00pm PT

Ottawa (Eastern Region) – Sunday, October 4 at 10:30am ET

Toronto (Central Region) – Sunday, October 4 at 2:00pm ET

Montreal (Quebec Region) – Sunday, October 4 at 2:00pm ET

Edmonton (Prairie Region) – Sunday, October 4 at 12:00pm MT

Winnipeg (Prairie Region) – Sunday, October 4 at 1:00pm CT

Calgary (Prairie Region) – Sunday, October 4 at 2:00pm MT

 

Registration for the Youth Festivals is now open!

Go to https://www.youthfest.ca/ or https://www.festivaljeunesse.ca to register.

 

Youth Festival Merchandise

Our Youth Festival merchandise is now available for purchase! You can check out available items on our youth festival website under “SHOP”.

 

Young Phoenix Group Participation

We would like to ask for your help to recruit Young Phoenix Group members and guests (youth aged 13-17) for a special dance presentation in our October youth festivals!  (a detailed memo has already been sent out)

 

Weekly Daimoku Wave

We ask for everyone’s support by joining in a weekly National Daimoku Wave Campaign! Every Saturday starting on August 22 until October 3, between the hours of 9:00am - 12:00pm local time, each region will host a zoom call with hourly encouragement. (Encouragement to be shared during this chanting session has already been sent out)

For more information and links please contact your district, chapter or area leaders.

 

Upcoming events

No Young Phoenix Group or Student Division meetings in September or October

In order to focus on the World Youth General Meeting and the Youth Festivals, there will be no Young Phoenix Group or Student Division meetings in September or October.

 

We hope you found this newsletter beneficial. Please email your questions or comments to postmaster@sgicanada.org. The next SGI Canada Newsletter will appear on September 11, 2020. See you then!

 

SUBSCRIBE