Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the browsers below.

Internet Explorer 10, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

SGI Canada Newsletter, No. 38 - October 22, 2021

October 22, 2021

SGI Canada Newsletter

Issue no. 38

October 22, 2021

 Welcome to the 38th issue of the SGI Canada Newsletter, a bi-weekly summary of news, upcoming events and encouragement. If you are not subscribing to the SGI Canada Newsletter, you may do so by clicking on the button below. Subscriptions are free of charge, and the SGI Canada Newsletter will be emailed directly to you.

SUBSCRIBE

NEWS

Second SGI Online Study Lecture available next week

SGI Canada members and friends will soon be able to watch the second SGI Online Study Lecture by SGI Study Department Leader Masaaki Morinaka.

Mr. Morinaka’s lecture is largely based on two of SGI President Ikeda’s lectures -- “The Shared Struggle of Mentor and Disciple” and “It Is the Heart That Is Important” -- from the series The Buddhism of the Sun—Illuminating the World: A Religion of Human Revolution. These articles were originally published in the May and June 2019 issues of New Century, and in the June and August 2019 issues of Ère nouvelle. It is not necessary to have read the articles recently in order to get full benefit from Mr. Morinaka’s lecture.

The online lecture will be open to SGI Canada members and their friends. They  will receive study notes (in English, French and Chinese) with the excerpts that Mr. Morinaka explains in his lecture.

The lecture and study notes will also be available in Japanese, Korean, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, German, Thai and Indonesian. Local leaders can organize showings of the lecture in these languages and supply the study notes in response to requests.

District level and up leaders will be able to show the online lecture in district meetings and at additional meetings and showings at all levels. These leaders will receive instructions on how to show the lecture.

The lecture will be available for viewing until December 31. We encourage leaders to make as many opportunities as possible for members and guests to view the online lecture and to have discussions together after viewings.

We will post an announcement next week with the starting date of the online lecture. You can also consult your local leaders. 

SGI Canada Special Fund

Thank you for your generous support of the SGI Canada Special Fund. Contributions can always be made through the SGI Canada online portal at https://sgicinfo.org/portal/login, or by mailing cheques or money orders to:

SGI Canada

2050 Dufferin Street

Toronto, Ont.

M6E 3R6

 

Upcoming Events

Nationwide Korean-language meeting to be held on October 31

SGI Canada’s Korean-language members will hold their  second nationwide meeting on October 31 (10.00am PT, 11.00am MT, 12.00pm CT, 1.00pm ET, 2.00pm AT, 2.30pm NT). With the theme “Let us be the protagonists for Canadian kosen-rufu toward 2030,” the meeting will bring together Korean-speaking members and guests from all five regions across Canada.

For more information, please contact Ricky Lee at: rlee@sgicanada.org.

Young Men’s and Young Women’s General Meetings on November 6

During the month of November, we will be celebrating the 60th anniversary of the Young Women and Young Men’s Days! These meetings will be nation-wide online meetings and are open to all members, guests, and Young Phoenix Group members. Let’s promote the meetings to all young men’s and young women’s members and look out for meeting links to be sent out from divisional leaders. 

Young Men's Meeting:

Date: Saturday, November 6

Time: 1:00pm PT / 2:00pm MT / 3:00pm CT / 4:00pm ET / 5:00pm AT / 5:30pm NT 

Young Women's Meeting:

Date: Saturday, November 6

Time: 1:00pm PT / 2:00pm MT / 3:00pm CT / 4:00pm ET / 5:00pm AT 

2021 Special Lecture at Soka Education Research Centre on Global Citizenship

The Soka Education Research Centre on Global Citizenship (SERC-GC) at the University of Guelph-Humber in Toronto is excited to host its fourth annual Special Lecture online on November 18 from 7:30pm-8:30pm ET.

The special lecture is an exciting tradition allowing students, faculty and the general public the opportunity to hear from experts in Soka education and global citizenship.

This year, SERC-GC welcomes Dr. Hiroko Tomioka. Dr. Tomioka is a professor at Soka University in Japan, as well as an esteemed member of the Ikeda Research Institute for Soka Education. She will be speaking about Soka education founder Tsunesaburo Makiguchi’s unique pedagogy, its historical context, the foundation and purpose of Soka education, as well as the dynamic processes of positive societal contribution and transformation.

The Special Lecture is open to everyone. To register for the 4th annual SERC-GC Special Lecture with Dr. Tomioka, please click here.

 For more information on SERC-GC, please click here.

University of Waterloo SGI Student Club welcomes all students and youth

The student division is now focusing on local activities and will not hold any national meetings for the rest of the year.

However, the University of Waterloo SGI Student Club has opened up its meetings to English-speaking students and youth from everywhere in Canada.

The goal of Student Club meetings is to engage in respectful, meaningful, and positive dialogues and conversations about everything – from daily life challenges and aspirations to Buddhist concepts and the real-world applications of Buddhist teachings. The Student Club hosts weekly meetings every Wednesday at 8.00pm ET which include an optional 30 minute chanting session from 7:30pm ET and a one-hour study meeting.

Here is the schedule for the rest of 2021:

October 27 at 8.00pm ET: Life and Death

November 3 at 8.00pm ET: Shakubuku - Sharing the Essential Teaching of Buddhism

November 10 at 8.00pm ET: The Simultaneity of Cause and Effect

November 17 at 8.00pm ET: The Middle Way

November 24 at 8.00pm ET: The Oneness of Mentor and Disciple

December 1 at 8.00pm ET: Creating Value

December 8 at 8.00pm ET:  Last club meeting, casual

Please contact your local youth leaders for more information and for links to the meetings.

 

We hope you found this newsletter beneficial. Please email your questions or comments to contact@sgicanada.org. The next SGI Canada Newsletter will appear on November 5, 2021. See you then!

SUBSCRIBE