Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the browsers below.

Internet Explorer 10, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

SGI Canada Newsletter, No. 37 - October 8, 2021

October 8, 2021

SGI Canada Newsletter

Issue no. 37

October 8, 2021

Welcome to the 37th issue of the SGI Canada Newsletter, a bi-weekly summary of news, upcoming events and encouragement. If you are not subscribing to the SGI Canada Newsletter, you may do so by clicking on the button below. Subscriptions are free of charge, and the SGI Canada Newsletter will be emailed directly to you.

SUBSCRIBE

 

NEWS

Second SGI Online Study Lecture in October

SGI has announced the second SGI Online Study Lecture, presented by SGI Study Department Leader Masaaki Morinaka. It will be available for viewing from October 23 to December 31, 2021 (Japan Time).

The lecture will be 40 minutes in length and will be available in 12 languages. The study material will be based on SGI President Ikeda’s lectures “The Shared Struggle of Mentor and Disciple” and “It Is the Heart That Is Important” from the lecture series The Buddhism of the Sun—Illuminating the World: A Religion of Human Revolution. These lectures were originally published in the May and June 2019 issues of New Century, and in the June and August 2019 issues of Ère nouvelle.

Further details will be announced as soon as they become available. 

COVID-19 update #17

By moving their activities online over the last 18 months, SGI Canada members have taken thoughtful and respectful action to ensure the safety of all those around them. This is in accordance with the concept of practising for the happiness of oneself and others.

In his lecture that we studied in September 2021 (published in the August 2021 New Century), President Ikeda says:

The first of the four universal vows that bodhisattvas make when they begin their Buddhist practice is the vow to save innumerable living beings.

The commitment to relieving the suffering of all, to dedicating oneself to the happiness of humanity -- establishing this compassionate spirit in one’s heart is the first step on the path to attaining Buddhahood.

Becoming a person who can pray for the happiness of others puts us on the sure path to enlightenment, the way to eternal growth and victory in life.

Through our continuing efforts to protect and encourage our families, fellow members, friends and communities during the COVID-19 pandemic, we are putting President Ikeda’s guidance into practice every day.

The public health situation across the country varies and changes from province to province . While government restrictions have been lifted in some areas, they have been reinstated in others. The number of new COVID-19 infections in some provinces is still worrying. As of this week, the Public Health Agency of Canada continues to see COVID-19 as a serious health threat, and says that the risk to Canadians is “high.”

SGI Canada’s prime concern from the beginning of the pandemic has been the safety of all members, their families and friends, wherever they may live in the country. Until we can safely resume in-person activities everywhere in Canada, we will continue with our suspension of all in-person SGI Canada activities, both indoors and outdoors, including individual home visits and small group meetings.

Likewise, all SGI Canada centres will remain closed until we resume in-person activities.

We encourage everyone to follow all public health guidelines in place in their community, and thank you all for your patience and your determination to keep everyone around you safe.

SGI Canada Special Fund

Thank you for your generous support of the SGI Canada Special Fund. Contributions can always be made through the SGI Canada online portal at https://sgicinfo.org/portal/login, or by mailing cheques or money orders to:

SGI Canada

2050 Dufferin Street

Toronto, ON

M6E 3R6

 

Upcoming Events

Nationwide Korean-language meeting to be held on Oct. 31

SGI Canada’s Korean-language members will hold a historic second nationwide meeting on October 31 (10.00am PT, 11.00am MT, 12.00pm CT, 1.00pm ET, 2.00pm AT, 2.30pm NT). With the theme “Let us be the protagonists for Canadian kosen-rufu toward 2030,” the meeting will bring together Korean-speaking members and guests from all five regions across Canada.

For more information, please contact Ricky Lee at rlee@sgicanada.org .

Young Women’s Group Commemorative Meeting to be held on November 6

On Saturday, November 6, there will be a nationwide Young Women’s Group Commemorative Meeting celebrating the 60th anniversary of “Young Women’s Day”!

The time will be 1.00pm PT / 2.00pm MT / 3.00pm CT / 4.00pm ET / 5.00pm AT / 5:30pm NT.

More details to come!

Soka Gakkai Founding Day and District General Meetings

Meetings commemorating November 18 Soka Gakkai Founding Day will take place on November 7, followed by District General Meetings throughout the month of November.

The best way we can commemorate the founding of the Soka Gakkai is by holding joyful District General Meetings with all the members and many guests attending, sharing our experiences of hope and victory!

 

We hope you found this newsletter beneficial. Please email your questions or comments to contact@sgicanada.org. The next SGI Canada Newsletter will appear on October 22, 2021. See you then!

SUBSCRIBE